Browse Exhibits (3 total)
This exhibit displays images and text that explore the initial reception of Gothic in Ireland during the course of the thirteenth century.
The first images in this exhibit are of the font that was stolen from the Church of St. Lawrence, Rathmore on May 14, 2013 and returned two days later following widespread media coverage of the theft.
The subsequent images show the tomb of Sir Thomas Plunket and Marion Cruise.
See our NEWS section for more information on the theft of the font.
The effect of the Suppression of Religious Houses Act, initiated in 1535 by King Henry VIII, saw widespread destruction of monastic architectural heritage. By the end of the decade the some 800 religious houses were under Crown control and their assets had been redistributed. This exhibit contains selected images from the Gothic Past archive of Irish Cistercian and Augustinian architecture from the period. Browse the individual collections by keyword or tag search for more examples.